Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor
Multi Academy Trust

About Us

The South Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust sits within the beautiful and rugged Dartmoor National Park and was formed in April 2010 by a group of local primary and secondary headteachers. Our aim is to work collaboratively together to provide high quality education for 2-19 year olds within our local community and to ensure that we share good practice between us. All the primary schools within our trust feed into the secondary school and the close working relationships we have developed have strengthened transition for our children and young people whilst retaining the individual nature of each of our schools and the communities they serve.

We are committed to providing the best outcomes for all children and young people and use our freedoms as an academy to achieve this. For example, in September 2015 we opened a new school, The Atrium, to provide project, skills based education for young people wishing to have a career in the built environment sector. We are also planning to open a school in September 2019 to provide education to 120 children and young people with high level special needs as we recognise that many of these children are struggling find suitable education within their local area.

The trust today consists of 5 primary schools; Ashburton, Buckfastleigh, Islington C of E, Moretonhampstead, Widecombe-in-the-Moor and 2 secondary schools; South Dartmoor Community College and The Atrium School (a studio school). All of these schools have been inspected at least once since becoming a trust and have been rated good or outstanding and we have a strong culture of supporting new and aspiring school leaders.

If you would like to apply for a school place for your child at any of our schools then please follow the links to the admissions page on each school website. If you are school who is interested in joining or working with our trust then please visit the contact us page.